Home News Worthy Three Countries Just Banned Wild Animal Circuses

Three Countries Just Banned Wild Animal Circuses

The “I” country trio has banned wild animal circuses.
Photo: flickr/greyloch

Recently, the news has been all about elephant and wild animal circus bans. It’s no surprise that three more countries have joined the trend: India, Italy and Ireland.

This is a huge step forward for each of these countries as they have all made little contributions to a more cruelty-free world over the past few years. Last year, Ireland’s capital banned the use of wild animals in travelling circuses, and the mayor of Italy’s Piedmontese city of Turin made plans to make Turin the first “vegan city” in the country. India was also applauded by animal rights activists when they banned the importation of reptile skins and certain furs.

Now, each of these three countries starting with “I” have banned wild animal circus acts altogether.

In 1998, animals including monkeys, tigers, panthers, and bears were banned from circus acts in India; however, elephants were an exception to the law. But this year, elephants got the rights they deserved in India too!

Soon after India’s ban was announced, Italy joined the list, followed by the Republic of Ireland.

“The use of wild animals for entertainment purposes in circuses can no longer be permitted,” the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Michael Creed TD, said regarding Ireland’s new ban. “This is our general view of the public at large and a position I am happy to endorse. This is a progressive move, reflective of our commitment to animal welfare.”

He concludes: “While the retirement of the small number of wild animals in Irish circuses might seem like a loss I am confident that this move will do more to secure the future of the circus community. Coming in line with modern welfare standards will mean that greater numbers of the public will be more comfortable with going to the circus.”

This is a huge success for many animal rights groups as they have campaigned for this ban for more than 10 years. Ireland’s ban will officially come into effect on January 1, 2018.

Italy, on the other hand, has historically been big on circuses; becoming the 41st country to ban wild animal circuses marks a historic moment for the Italians. The parliament officially voted to ban all animals used in circus acts and travelling shows on November 8, 2017.

India, Italy and Ireland join many other countries who have banned wild animal circuses, and at this rate, the list is expected to grow fast. We are hoping that the UK and the United States will be some of the next ones to join!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here