Home Vegan Lifestyle The Accidental Vegan List

The Accidental Vegan List

SHARE
Pin It

You’re a recently-turned-vegan walking down a grocery store aisle and you see your favourite Oreos, Doritos and candies cramming the shelves. You’re tempted to reach out and take a box of cookies, but you remember that you’re on a vegan diet. Well, did you know that some of your favourite food products could be vegan – accidentally?

Before we get too excited, we need to know which products are included in the list. Let’s take a look at the accidental vegan list composed of popular products that are actually vegan-friendly:

Oreos

Photo: Oreo/Facebook
Photo: Oreo/Facebook

Oreos are one of the most popular snacks in North America. Period. But did you know that they’re technically vegan?

If that’s so, then why aren’t Oreos labelled as vegan? Their reasoning is that Oreos are made in a factory where some products are made with dairy. Therefore, there could be traces of milk due to cross contamination; however, as a vegan, you don’t have to worry about that sort of labelling because chances of tasting dairy in your cookie is very low.

Doritos

Photo: doritos.co.uk
Photo: Doritos.co.uk

That’s right, your favourite Doritos can be vegan too! The Chilli Heatwave, Lightly Salted, and Spicy Sweet Chili flavours are free from animal ingredients.

Pringles

Photo: Pringles
Photo: Pringles

Wait, what? Aren’t potato chips supposed to be vegan? Well, some companies like to use milk ingredients to make their chips. However, Pringles Original, BBQ Sauce, Texas BBQ, Paprika and Smokey Bacon are all vegan!

Ritter Sport Marzipan

Photo: Ritter Sport
Photo: Ritter Sport

Ritter Sport Marzipan chocolate squares are vegan; however, just like the Oreos, they may contain traces of dairy and eggs and that is why Ritter Sport does not want to label their product as “vegan.”

Sour Patch Kids

Photo: Flickr/Mike Mozart
Photo: Flickr/Mike Mozart

For gelatin-free candy, try Sour Patch Kids. They may be sour, but many of their products are actually vegan.

The watermelon flavour is a favourite amongst many.

Swedish Fish

Swedish FishAre you a Swedish Fish fan? There’s good news! You don’t have to give up this candy when going vegan because it is free from animal products.

AirHeads

AirHeadsAll of your favourite AirHeads flavours are vegan! You can try Cherry, Grape, Blue Raspberry, Watermelon, Orange, White Mystery, Strawberry, Pink Lemonade, and Green Apple without feeling guilty.

Fruit by the Foot

Photo: bettycrocker.com
Photo: BettyCrocker.com

Your favourite Fruit by the Foot fruit snacks are also vegan. However, while they are gelatin-free, they contain many chemicals, just like most other popular candies.

Dots

DotsLove Tootsie Dots? Just like the other candies listed above, they’re gelatin-free and vegan too!

Dum Dums

Dum Dums
Photo: Dum Dums

Dum Dums are free from common food allergens, including milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, wheat and gluten. They are also free from gelatin.

Hubba Bubba gum

Photo: wrigley.com
Photo: Wrigley.com

One thing that is great about Hubba Bubba is that their gum does not contain any gelatin or animal-derived stearic acid. In addition, they started creating a sugar-free version of their famous gum back in 2009.

Jujubes

JujubesAre you a Jujubes fan worried about missing out on candy if you go vegan? Well, there’s no need to worry because the ingredients listed for Jujubes are all vegan.

SunChips Original

Photo: SunChips
Photo: SunChips

While the SunChips Cheddar Harvest flavour may be everyone’s favourite, the Original flavour is a favourite amongst vegans as it is free from animal ingredients.

Keebler Ice Cream Cups

Keebler Ice Cream Cups
Photo: Keebler

What better way than to eat your dairy-free ice cream at home than to eat it with an ice cream cone? Keebler Ice Cream Cups are the perfect pairing for your dairy-free ice cream!

Ritz Crackers

Photo: Ritz Crackers
Photo: Ritz Crackers

Surprise! Ritz Crackers Original are actually vegan, despite their buttery taste. They are made with a series of vegetable oils amongst other ingredients, and the only allergen you’ll find in these crackers is soya.

Tic Tac

© Vegan Stuff in Belgium
© Vegan Stuff in Belgium

Both Tic Tac Mints and Orange are vegan. However, be careful of other Tic Tac flavours as they could contain carmine (or E120), an ingredient derived from cochineal insects.

#accidentallyvegan

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here