Home Vegan Lifestyle 10 Candies You Did Not Know Were Vegan

10 Candies You Did Not Know Were Vegan

SHARE
Pin It

Everybody loves candy, especially during the spooky Halloween season. However, when you’re vegan, there are many ingredients used in candies that you must avoid, such as gelatin, shellac, casein and carmine.

Therefore, we have rounded up this list of 10 vegan candies just for you so that you can get into the spooky spirit this Halloween!

1. Nerds

Nerds aren’t just for nerds; they’re for everyone, even vegans!

2. DOTS

Photo: Flickr/Pete Markham

Are you obsessed with Tootsie DOTS? Just like all of the candies on this list, they are gelatin-free and vegan too!

3. Twizzlers

Photo: Flickr/James Lee

Halloween is never the same without Twizzlers. And the good news is that they can be enjoyed by everyone because they are animal-free!

4. Cocomels

© JJ Sweets

Every vegan needs to try Cocomels. They come in many great flavours, including Original, Sea Salt, Vanilla, and Espresso.

Cocomels are also non-GMO and certified organic.

5. Dum Dums

Craving lollipops? Go for Dum Dums because they’re vegan too!

6. Jujubes

Jujubes are vegan too! Their list of ingredients is completely animal-free.

7. Sour Patch Kids

Photo: Flickr/Mike Mozart

Surprise! These sour treats may be a slap on your tongue, but they’re actually vegan-friendly!

The watermelon flavour is a favourite amongst many.

8. Airheads

That’s right! All your favourite Airheads flavours are vegan. Cherry, Grape, Blue Raspberry, Watermelon, Orange, White Mystery, Strawberry, Pink Lemonade, and Green Apple just became a part of your guilt-free list.

9. Swedish Fish

Are you a Swedish Fish fan? Well, there’s good news! This candy that you would expect to have gelatin is, in fact, vegan-friendly.

10. Smarties

Almost every single person who goes Trick or Treating comes home with some hard Smarties. Turns out, they’re vegan too!

Want to know if a candy isn’t vegan? Here are some ingredients to watch out for:

  • Gelatin (a.k.a. gelatine) – protein obtained from boiling cow and pig body parts, including bones, tendons, ligaments and/or skin. It is often used as a thickener in candies, marshmallows and vitamins.
  • Shellac – a resin secreted from female lac bugs. It is also known as “confectioner’s glaze.” It comes in the form of dry flakes (after processing) or in liquid form after being dissolved in ethanol. It is often used as a food glaze.
  • Casein – protein found in milk. It is often used in cheeses and non-dairy creamers. Casein can be spelled differently on labels, so look for these words: casein, caseinate, calcium caseinate, potassium caseinate, and sodium caseinate. It is important to read labels closely because food products with casein are often labeled as “non-dairy.”
  • Carmine – red pigment obtained from crushing female cochineal insects. It is often used in food products and cosmetics as a red dye and goes by many names, including: cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake/carmine lake, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120.

#vegancandy

SaveSave

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here